Happy New Year!  On behalf of the Board of the San Diego Section of the American Planning Association, we invite and strongly encourage you to fully participate in the SDAPA activities coming up in 2015.  Be prepared to have fun at some great programs and social events planned for the year!

I’d like to express my personal gratitude to Greg Konar for the outstanding leadership he has provided as Director of our Section for the past two years.  Greg has put forward great effort in continuing to grow the educational programs, networking opportunities and career development outreach provided to our membership.  In 2014, nearly 2,000 attendees participated in SDAPA events.  And, because of the solid foundation that Greg has helped build for our Section, it will only go up from there.  Greg, thank you for all of your hard work and dedication!

A number of events were held last year to provide up-to-date information to our members on current planning topics.  A few of these included water reliability planning, open space/preserve conservation, multi-modal transportation and Transit Oriented Development, CEQA Guidelines revisions under SB 743, and, planning to support San Diego’s craft brewery explosion.  Keep your eyes out for more great programs in 2015!  And, for those of you AICPs out there, don’t forget that our programs provide you with a low cost opportunity to meet your CM credits requirement.

Also, take the opportunity to highlight the good work you’ve been doing at your firm or agency by submitting for a local APA award – look for the announcement in early January. Not only have some great projects won at the local level, but we have an excellent record of receiving awards at the state level when we compete against others in California.

And, most importantly, don’t miss out on the opportunity to get together with old and new planning friends to swap stories and share dreams.  There are some excellent Planners Night Out and social events in the works for the coming year.  See you there!



Gary Halbert, AICP

Section Director